Skinfood Rice Mask Wash-off

Standard

Finally a review after so longgg! Fret not, it’s not ANOTHER BB cream review. Heh!

It’s a review on the famous Skinfood Rice Mask! *claps*

I bought sample packs of this mask in my first Gmarket Haul (no overseas shipping for full-size Skinfood products!) but I haven’t got a chance to use it till that day when I wanted to do a DIY clay mask but the Chamomile distillate turned yellow and yucky. So I decided to try this rice mask which also has exfoliating and perhaps, purifying properties (??? I thought).

Description (stated on the packet)

Mask with nutritious rice extracts for soft skin texture

To use: After cleansing, gently massage over dry face. Avoid eye area. Rinse off. (The instructions were kinda ambiguous?? )

First impressions?

I think it works alright. But I’m not wowed at the effect. It’s a rather gentle scrub?  My skin looks a tad brighter after ‘scrubbing’ . I liked the smooth and supple effect. And it didn’t cause any irritations to my sensitive skin. Good. But I’m not wowed as the Moroccan Rhassoul clay mask would have done better.

And then, I came across some reviews stating that the instructions were clearer on the Skinfood Singapore website.

Taken from Skinfood Singapore website:

“Apply evenly after cleansing. Avoid eye and mouth area. Gently scrub and wash off with lukewarm water after 10 – 15 minutes.”

My version

So this is how I apply it now…

The texture of this mask pack is in between a lotion and a cream..so it’s kinda like a creamy lotion?? With crushed rice bits in it to give the exfoliating effect. There is a body-lotion-like scent to it which surprised me initially as I was expecting it to smell like rice…or even scentless.

Anyways, I’ll gently massage it onto my skin, to give it some exfoliation…

Massage it a little while more to get this…

What’s left is a greasy film and some rice bits.

Afterwhich, I’ll leave it on for 10 mins before washing it off with lukewarm water.

TADAH! Can you see the difference??

BLAH. My skin was a little brighter, softer and supple after use. I’ve used this 4 times to date and it doesn’t exactly whiten my skin, just makes it a little bit brighter. I actually have a zit on my chin because I “over-scrubbed” it while I was applying the mask just now. My bad. This rice mask still works fine as a mild scrub though. Just don’t get too excited with the scrubbing and you should be fine. 🙂

That being said, I think I’ll still turn back to my Moroccan Rhassoul Clay Mask if I ever need to wake up my dull skin.

It was definitely worth a try and if I have to rate this, I’ll give it a….  7/10.

Sorry for the lengthy post and thanks for reading!!

***Just an update on the Gmarket spree, one local reader has indicated interest to date. So if you’re also interested, lemme know by 30th April 2011! You can check out the details HERE***

Leave a Reply

